Followers Aren't Customers

G’Day, in the last edition I told you about:

  • 🧃Juicy New Ideas!

  • 🤨The Ranking Algorithm is Weird

  • 🤑Ahh, Monetization

In today’s newsletter:

  • 🥷Stealing From Dropshippers

  • Reality Check

  • 🤔4am Thoughts

🥷Stealing Customers from Facebook Ads

This week I came across an interesting forum post about stealing customers from dropshippers by using their ads against them by commenting and giving a better alternative.

I was struck by the simple yet possibly effective approach.

Most newsletters run ads, those ads are optimized to get clicks and appear to people who are interested, they spend thousands of dollars.

What if I can capture just 10% of the traffic by targeting newsletters in my niche running ads.

The commenting part is pretty simple, although I’d like to be able to rank my comments first, so that most people see them.

This needs a bit of research, but I reckon it’s possible.

They most likely rank by likes which can be easily manipulated.

If you break down the strategy it’s basically the same thing as reddit, but with more traffic and targeted audience.

✅Reality Check

The growth I’ve experienced on Instagram has been great, I am thankful and realize how lucky I am, but the reality is that growth and followers are irrelevant, if they don’t convert into customers.

For this to happen I have to rebrand the page from reposts to original content and more focused on my newsletter.

It’ll be infinitely easier to show my face and build a brand around it, but I am reluctant to do so for 2 reasons - privacy, value of the brand.

First of all I don’t want to show my face. At some point I may do it, but for now I’ll remain unknown.

Second, the value of the brand is going to fall if I ever decide to sell it, as if I build a brand around myself, it’ll forever be associated with my face and have no value without me, just like Tate’s or any other guru out there.

As a sidenote, the growth has slowed down, but again growing with 400-500 followers per day.

🎬Account Action

As you know from the previous editions I have a second account in which I am posting one type of videos.

With it I am experiencing no growth, but I tried posting one of the posts as a story, which got me some views, but in doing so I realized that stories might be harmful to reels.

They give you the views but without interaction, which in the eyes of the algorithm might be bad.

I also made 2 other accounts.

I’ve made plans for all of them and will start posting on the last two in the next days.

I am also implementing a CTA in all of them with ManyChat.

This is the tool that allows you to make people comment and send them something once they do or dm, you know the “comment “sub” for a gift” type of thing.

This is basically the top of the marketing funnel.

🤔4am Thoughts

I came across a video on TikTok from account with no name and picture, which I did not know was possible.

The video stated in inconspicuous way that the account has no name, which acted as a cta to get you to view the account.

It worked on me, so that may be a viable way to promote on TikTok.

🎯Current Stats:

  • Newsletter: 1218 subscribers

  • Growth: +491 subscribers

Thanks for Reading!