Instagram is inefficient

G’Day, in the last edition I told you about:

  • 💔The Broken Ad System

  • 🚀We Launched!

  • ⭐Getting Back to Instagram

In today’s newsletter:

  • ⚠️Why I stopped posting on IG?

  • 💡The Replacement?

  • 💳The Payment Method.

⚠️Why I Stopped Posting on IG?

Efficiency and effectiveness are my main priorities.

If we’re going by definitions, the first one is to do the task fast and without wasting resources and the second one is to do the right task.

Posting on IG is neither.

The account that gathered me millions of views is gone and the new one, doesn’t gather any.

I know the reasons, but for now it’s better to leave IG for a while.

Posting takes time and focus from other tasks, which could potentially have better results, thus my decision to put it on hold.

💡The Replacement?

Ads.

The thing I’ve always been afraid of.

Why?

In my head if you are growing an IG and run ads, instagram recognizes you’re ready to spend money and tanks your organic viewership.

This theory has been going around social media marketing forums for years, some people back it up, others don’t.

I would say - BE CAREFUL!

Instagram is a business first and they always look out for their profits.

Their Algorithms are so advanced, we couldn’t even begin to grasp it, so in theory it could be true.

That’s not to say ads are bad.

My ads worked.

But not as good as I’d hoped to. The average CPA(cost per acquisition) was 1$, which given the access to organic viewers and the ease of going viral is just horrendous.

With my main account I got 600 subscribers to my newsletter for FREE.

Using ads, it would’ve costed me $600+.

On the other hand I’ve seen skilled marketers having a CPA around 0.20$, but for amateurs, I’d strongly recommend you to stay away from ads.

💳The Payment Method.

Before running them I was afraid of last week’s saga happening all over again.

This was not the case, as when you don’t have a Facebook account connected to your Instagram, you can just use Instagram’s ad payment system.

You deposit your money before running them and then use your available balance.

This is the way you should do it.

It’s headache free and works without any caveats.

If you decide to do that, be aware that if you pay on your iPhone, it’s gonna cost 20% more because of the Apple fee. To circumvent it use a browser, add your balance there and set-up the ad from your app.

🎯Current Stats:

  • Newsletter: 1,424 subscribers

  • Weekly Growth: -1 subscribers

  • Total Growth: +697 subscribers

  • Instagram: 33,427 followers

Thanks for Reading!