Instagram - The New Reddit?

G’Day, in the last edition I told you about:

  • 😰The Nightmare of Farming Karma

  • 🔙Going Back to My Roots

  • 🚀Even More Insane Growth on IG

In today’s newsletter:

  • 👎How to deal with Negative Karma?

  • ⛔Why Upvoting does not Work

  • 💪Crushing it on Instagram!

📨The Seller Responded!(Part 2)

As you know from the last edition, I bought a high-karma reddit account which immediately got banned and I contacted the seller.

Well, I received a response…he agreed to give me a replacement.

I knew I should do everything in my power to keep that account so I did just that.

I dug up my old iPhone and got a new sim card, set up the account and waited a whole day.

On the next day I started browsing and interacting, still slowly and cautiously.

To my surprise, it was banned the day after that. Maybe I should’ve expected it, but I had high-hopes.

From all the info I’ve gained and talking to the seller, it might come down to the long inactivity of the accounts and the change of location.

👎Negative Karma…

An interesting discovery this week is that if you somehow reach negative karma, your comments get hidden, making it very hard to regain karma and trust with reddit.

It is possible, but it takes time and work.

⛔Upvoting is Still a No-go

It seems I’ve gone into testing mode with upvoting.

I am trying different things, but none of them work.

Slow speeds, fast speeds, 5 or 50 upvotes, it all leads to shadowbans.

american dad cooking GIF

I also discovered another upvote provider, whom I decided to give a try.

Even though it was bigger and had way more options, I still got banned upvoting my comments.

Also a new idea is to comment from the upvote service directly, using an option called “custom comment”, then upvoting that comment. It won’t gain me karma, but achieve the main objective - getting as much reach as possible.

💪Crushing it on Instagram!

At least the Instagram is going great, 4000 followers great to be exact, on the main one.

The second one is a different story. It’s in 400-1000 views prison and before you say that this doesn’t exist, it does. Instagram’s CEO(@mosseri) confirmed it.

It seems to be a bug in the algorithm, which they’re trying to fix or it may be due to the non-original content, although it is highly modified and it’s hard to believe Instagram’s detection algo is advanced enough to detect it.

A lot of my growth can be attributed to one thing - posting a lot. Exactly 6 times a day. This gives me the numbers advantage to go viral, but it also gives me the higher combined views.

For example, if I post once a day and gain 100k views on the reel, I get 100k views, but if I post 6 times a day and each video gets 20-40k views, then combined I get 120-240k views, substantially more, which in turn leads to more followers.

🧪Experimenting is the way to go

Considering the great growth on the first account and the bad one on the second, I am making a third one, which will feature only original content, to see if that may be the thing drawing me back on the second account.

I am also gonna utilize the account to try to improve the conversion ratio of profile visits/followers, as it currently sits at 5%, which is pretty bad.

I’ve seen 20-30% in well branded theme pages with one-theme videos rather than random reposts from TikTok, which if I am assuming right is my reason for such low conversion.

⚠️Instagram - Reddit’s replacement?

With the growth in followers, there has been a lot of link clicks, which have turned into newsletter subscribers, currently it is a very low number, but it is enough to get me wondering if that’s the future rather than reddit.

🎯Current Stats:

  • Newsletter: 888 subscribers

  • Growth: +162 subscribers

Thanks for Reading!