Money Mojo 3.0

Greetings!

In today's newsletter:

  • Why haven’t I sent in 10 months?

  • The new topic of the newsletter

  • My story

📚The lesson

Learn from your mistakes - Single sentence advice which can go a long way.

This newsletter was a mistake from the start. I was writing about something I wasn’t passionate about and had very little knowledge of. It was hard to write and complete disaster as a copy.

I wasn’t consistent and I didn’t put the work in. I thought to myself - “It is going to be easy profit”, but in reality it wasn’t. I made 0 dollars from it, let you down as a creator and eventually abandoned you.

Well I learned my lesson. That is why I am transforming Money Mojo and making it great.

From now on, it is going to be a story. The story of it’s own growth and success. The good, the bad and the ugly. Both the business and marketing side of it.

🤝How does that benefit you?

With the new format you’ll receive:

  • 🚀Growth tactics and how to execute them

  • 🛠️The exact tools I am utilizing

  • 🔎Full transparency

If the newsletter succeeds, you’ll have a blueprint to follow, which would be applicable to most businesses and if it doesn’t, you’ll know what not to do.

📖My story

It too long to understand newsletters, to be frank. It even resulted in 10 month break…

🌱The beginning

The idea for a newsletter first popped into my head on New Year’s eve 2022. I was a 17 year old, desperate to start a new venture, when I saw a tweet by Milk Road and got intrigued by the newsletter business model.

Few days into researching them I discovered they could be profitable and right then and there decided to start one.

I knew I needed a name, logo, website and wanted it to be business related, so I asked ChatGPT for name suggestions and one of them was “Money Mojo”.

I am not a native English speaker, so I didn’t even know what “mojo” meant. As everyone would, I searched it up, google said it was a synonym for attraction. The first thought that crossed my mind was “attracting money, kind of cool”, so I went with it.

The next step was a logo, I can’t make one, so I found someone on fiverr who could, paid him and rented domain and hosting.

⌛Nearly done

Ok, I am ready for sending, I though to myself, shortly after I discovered I needed an email provider. I needed something free and intuitive, so I went with beehiiv. At first I wanted MailerLite, but in order to use them, you have to pass their approval process, which I did not, so I went with the runner up.

At that point I had everything but a topic. After giving it some though I decided on writing financial term’s definitions in a simple and playful manner.

Well, I hated it.

🔀Iterations

I wanted to change it and decided to do it in a comic book style, rather than words. Still there was something missing, so after few issues I decided to change it yet again.

This time changing the topic, I won’t include the full story of this change here, as it will make it too long, so if you are interested in it, you can read the article - Money Mojo 2.0.

After just 2 issues, I abandoned it completely.

👨🏻‍💻Behind the scenes

In the meantime I was doing a lot of reddit marketing and had amassed over 600 subs in just four months, back then I though growth was slow and not enough. Going back, if I had been persistent and continued marketing it, I would be at around 2000 now.

🎉The verdict

Now after 10 months, Money Mojo is back and from now on it is going to be about itself. The “newsletter writing it’s own story”. The most beautiful part of it is that if I succeed people would have a blueprint of what to do and if I fail, they would know what not to do, win-win in my book.

I had that fire in my eyes yet again. So I made a plan and started my new journey.

Now you are a part of that journey - the most crucial part of it.

Let’s make it happen!

☝One more thing…

If you want to connect, I am also building a discord community, so feel free to join.