Reddit is Harder Than It Looks

G’Day, in the last edition I told you about:

  • 💪Growing on Reddit is harder than ever

  • 🚫Why you shouldn’t include links in your emails

  • 🕵️‍♂️The Instagram mystery no one can solve

In today’s newsletter:

  • ⛔I am Banned…(again)

  • 👽A Reddit Conspiracy

  • 💡A Crazy Idea

  • 🚀Insane Growth on Instagram

⛔Banned IP on reddit (blacklist)

Let me start with the bad news - I am blacklisted from Reddit, at least I think so.

All of the accounts I use on my personal IP get banned, so from now on I have to use proxies to use Reddit, a bit of an inconvenience but not that big of a deal, as I already have my own farm.

Another issue I faced is that bought accounts are trash.

It might be due to the change of IP or plenty of other reasons, but they are getting banned left and right even without any spammy action.

👽A Reddit Conspiracy?

Bear with me as we are entering the conspiracy theory territories but I think that the auto moderator bot checks out the links you include in comments and their frequency.

Or another possibility might be that if you give one particular link too often the moderators of some subreddits might start to ban everyone who mentions that link.

As it has happened to me with my newsletter link.

Considering that, the best practice for now is to write the comment without a link and add it as an edit later, allowing you to bypass auto moderator checking it before posting, although this wouldn’t save you from moderators hand checking each comment or flagging it for the link.

Apart for the normal anti-spamming issues I am facing is the fact that there aren’t many posts that I find suitable to comment and promote on.

I can’t just comment something of no value or relation to the post as I would be breaking the “rediquette”.

💡What if I Take Over Reddit?

While struggling to write comments I’ve been thinking of alternative ways to promote on reddit and one stood out to me.

Doing a Reddit Takeover. Something like Twitter’s👇

But I’d do it with upvoting.

Posting and upvoting my posts to gain massive amount of views in short period of time, as the posts would most likely get taken down.

If I want to focus on longevity, I would have to also make enough fake comments which seem real, so that the subreddit moderators are less suspicious and have high-karma accounts with great history.

The more karma you have, the lower the possibility of ban.

With what I’ve seen posts do, I could be looking at reach in the hundreds of thousands, if done right.

🤷The Subreddit might be happening

This week something interesting happened.

I received a reddit message, which stated something along the lines of “You’ve been selected to be a member of this community…”.

It caught my eye as I felt special to be selected, but when I opened the invite, it was some bogus subreddit with hundred or so members.

I had never seen such message.

It was so mysterious yet so good, so I decided to make my research on what this type of invite was and as it turns out when you make a private community, you can go onto any subreddit and invite members through the mobile app.

So now I also have that as an option, a better option than cold DMs in my opinion.

🚀Insane Growth on Instagram!

At last, some good news. The Instagram account is growing.

I am currently at 300 followers and have reached a million views on one of my reels in the span of ONE week.

I was a non-believer in Instagram, but it might turn out to be a great platform for growth.

Proof of Million views

🏋️Doubling down on Instagram.

I am getting greedy, but the amazing growth has got me hooked, so I am starting a second account, themed - “Men’s Aesthetics”.

It’s a bit different but I’ve seen a lot of videos on my FYP, so why not try it.

Another benefit is that the whole account is centered around 1 topic, which leads to more loyal and engaged audience.

I have downloaded videos from other Instagram accounts, then edited them in bulk and downloaded on another phone with different SIM card.

🎯Current Stats:

  • Newsletter: 745 subscribers

  • Growth: +19 subscribers

Thanks for Reading!