The Reddit Strategy

G’Day, in the last edition I told you about:

  • My progress on Instagram

  • Why I decided to abandon Twitter

  • The struggles I faced and my current position.

In today’s newsletter:

  • 📣How do I promote on Reddit?

  • 🎉How I set up my welcome email.

  • 📸Why did I decide to take a Photoshop course?

📣How do I promote on Reddit?

As I mentioned in the last issue, Reddit has been the main source of growth for this newsletter.

I’ve been using a commenting strategy, which let’s you rank high in the comment section and thus driving traffic to my newsletter. Let’s break it down:

I write a comment which is helpful and adds value to the conversation, somewhere in it I plug my newsletter.

As you can see I give an answer and plug the newsletter, while also making a comparison. This makes it the obvious choice to a beginner.

Placement is key in this strategy. You should place it so that it is visible now, but also in the future.

I replied to the first comment, so that I rank above everyone else, even tho I am not the first one, everyone who opens the post will read my comment.

Back then, I was counting on people liking it and upvoting it, but there are times that you get so down the commenting section that people never even read it, much less upvote it.

Now I have a tool, which let’s me upvote my comments, removing the “luck” factor from this strategy.

Back then I was bringing around 10 subs daily, so that is my goal now. Same strategy. This is the plan:

🎉Welcome email

This is more newsletter related, so you’re welcome to skip that part, if you’re not interested.

The Welcome Email is the most important part of your subscriber’s journey. It is the deciding factor for if they’re gonna open future emails or not.

Some newsletters have a whole onboarding journey consisting of multiple emails sent during the first week of subscribing, but I am sticking to the simple one email.

I decided to take inspiration from another newsletter and do my own twist on it.

Green is mine

📸Why did I decide to take a Photoshop Course?

I decided to take a short photoshop course, because I have to make thumbnails for each newsletter and the first one took me 4 hours, which is too much and I have to get my quality up. As you can see from the first ones - it’s pretty bad.

The course is by a channel called “PHLEARN” on Youtube and is completely free.

🎯Current Stats:

  • Newsletter: 713 subscribers

  • Growth: -13 subscribers

Thanks for Reading!